September 17, 2003

playing catch up

Holy mackeral! It's been ages. I need a Nexium. Agh. Well, school is in FULL swing. I had a test Monday, Tuesday, and this crazy report thingee due in French today. Mine was like half the length it should have been because I gave up last night because I was too tired to think any longer.

Well, I thought I was going to apply for study abroad at the U of Paris, but that doesn't seem to be the best idea after all. I'm thinking maybe I could just go on the Hawaii trip over Winter Break and get a Pluralism and Diversity credit. You don't think the folks would mind if I could soak up some rays and get college credit simultaneously, do you? But that would be fine by me. They also have a Winter Break course in Florence, which I've always wanted to go to really bad, but it's some upper level Italian course, and I'm not sure it would help me graduate. Anyway. If you want to contribute to the HELP GAYLA STUDY ABROAD IN HAWAII THIS WINTER BREAK FUND, email me and I'll give you my address. I am sure I will receive an overwhelming response. Don't all shout at once, ya hear?

In two of my classes we have discussed lynching, which is really quite disturbing/infuriating/downright sad. My English teacher sent me this website that shows pictures from many lynchings, and I got really upset about one in particular that was done in Waco in 1916. It's like, this was such a short time ago, and these people were DOING these awful, ungodly things. How is it possible? I just can't understand it, and I hate thinking about it, and I can never understand the hatred that is out there. But it is definitely out there. I've definitely experienced my fair share, considering. Not that I can relate to the race-related hate crimes. But anyway. Has anyone read "The Lottery" by Shirley Jackson? Crazy stuff.

blueavenue at 5:09 p.m.

previous | next