April 19, 2005

the sick look does not become me.

well crap.

my internet and my phone line (i have digital phone service through time warner cable) keep going out. it started yesterday evening, so i called and made an appointment for them to come fix it this morning. but THEN it started working again, so i called to cancel the appointment. and THEN it was broken again. FOTHER-MUCKER. so annoying. well, NOW i have to wait till THURSDAY for them to come look at it, but at least, even if it took many hours, it's back up for the time being. it is very difficult for me to make it through the day without checking my email or reading diaries. ay de mi, i'm pathetic. i was on AIM with K debating over which services to reserve at the Hershey Spa for next week (yes, as in Hershey's CHOColate!) when my internet just flat-out gave out, and so a few minutes later when i still couldn't get it back up, i called her. i said, well crap, i need to return my library book, but i don't know if they closed at 6 or if they're open late tonight and my internet's not working so i can't look-up their hours! (wah wah pout pout.) and she goes, well, i dunno, what did we do before the internet? ... look in the phone book. lol. it was funny. i was like, ah yes...beFORE the internet...interesting thought. i remember when the internet first came out: Prodigy. did anyone get Prodigy? i wanted it REALLY badly, but alas, my parents wouldn't get it. i think i was like 10 or 12. who knows. we finally got internet service (through Earthlink, incidentally, who is my current provider) when i was a sophomore in high school. my first email was gelisa@earthlink (don't write there, that's no longer my addy) and my first screen name was bingham99. lol. my 3 best friends and i had these stupid names, bingham, gingham, i don't even remember now. two years later i changed my screen name to goola17 (i was 17-haha). goola was one of my nicknames then. i've probably had somewhere from 8-10 screen names on aol instant messenger by now. i can't even remember them all. why am i talking about this? i'm not sure.
is it just me, or am i still sick? um, GREAT. i went to the doctor a week ago YESTERDAY. for the LOVE, people! and today he was closed, so i couldn't call. i'm gonna call him tomorrow and tell him i'm going to rip out my throat if it doesn't feel better soon and see what he says. he never even called to tell me whether it was strep throat or not. i need to do some yoga or something. maybe i'd feel better. i was in bed most of the day, feeling sorry for myself that i can't freaking sleep because of my throat and also not being able to breathe through my nose. lol. i hate that. i don't do well with breathing through my mouth.
sunday was my oldest brother's 40th birthday. phew. we talked for a while last night, which was nice. he and his wife are having a house built back in texas, so he's pretty excited about that, and so am i. i used to want to be an architect (as IF, i so suck at math!), and i'd love to see the plans. he keeps telling me that carrie on SATC reminds him of me SO much, which of course makes me happy, cuz i like her. she's witty. =) somehow when i was watching the show the other day i realized that she ALWAYS writes (in her column) "but i couldn't help but wonder..." and that made me laugh. mainly because you'd think i would have noticed before now, seeing as how i've already watched the entire series almost twice-through. heh. ah well.
it's 11:11. whee! but it's always 11:11 these days.

well, i don't really have a whole lot else to say right now, other than i'm going a LITTLE crazy trying to get some balls and make some decisions for once in my life. but i assume everyone already picked up on that one...right. sorry for all the complaining about my illness, it's just kind of driving me nuts, and i just haven't left my house much in the last week and a half. sigh. i did go into the city yesterday to my ahem--old job at the hotel and get my last paycheck and turn in my bank and all that shit. funny how people seem to be your best friends, and then suddenly, when you no longer work there, they don't give a flying flip. lol. funny and not so funny, i guess. not like the same thing doesn't happen everytime i leave a job, i guess. but still. i like people too easily, i guess.

on a happier note, i did, indeed end up returning my book to the library, and i got three new ones. (of course, i still had the other two i haven't read yet.) but anyway, last night i read the first book (the bad beginning) in the lemony snicket series of unfortunate events, and it was good. really witty. cracked me up. i saw a book that is something like the unauthorized biography of lemony snicket, so i'll have to back and pick that one up, cuz i bet it's hilarious. i'm onto reading "Boy Meets Girl"--i think that's what it's called, anyway, by Meg Cabot. i like to read silly, easy, entertaining books sometimes, and she's good at those. i've also started "On the Road," which is very interesting, and also funny. anyway, i just can't seem to stop reading lately. god, i love books. hmm. i should probably go ahead and post this and get to monster to fix up my resume before the internet goes out again. shit. well, here ya go with a long-ass entry FULL of excitement! who knew??!! peace out ya'll, and send me a chocolate chip cookie, please.

blueavenue at 10:57 p.m.

previous | next