January 18, 2005

rambly ramblings from public transportation.

>>4 words: wind chill negative four.

OK, who am i kidding? we all know i can't write just four words. so is it just me or was it 60 degrees a few days ago?

i'm riding the bus to work right now. i give thanks to the LORD for bringing the bus to me only 5 minutes after i got there. now hopefully it doesn't break down when we get on the highway. i hate writing on the backs of pages. i don't know why. maybe it's an OCD thing. i'm not sure i have OCD, but if i don't yet, i probably will someday. my mom has it. she doesn't like to talk about it, but sometimes she does anyway because i won't leave her alone. i want her to try some medicine for her anxiety, but she doesn't. long story.

it's such a lovely day out. the sun is coming through from behind the edges of clouds, the sky is bright blue. too bad it's 12 degrees. i have on stripey, colored tights and knit black leg warmers under my slacks.

is it just me (i already said that. hmm...) or am i the only one in this City who doesn't have an iPod? i mean geez. do that many people really have $300 lying around? i'm asking for a creative zen for my b-day, but it's $230. i wouldn't expect my parents to spend so much. phew. maybe i can save up for one now that i'm working (?!). i like the mini, black one best.

this bus is shaking too much to keep writing...

...6:?? pm

it's about negative 800 degrees outside (or less), and after waiting half an hour for the express bus, i missed it when it came. (i had stupidly stepped into a store to attempt to thaw my feet.) i nearly cried. i walked to the train and waited for the R for 10 minutes, but it obviously wasn't coming because it's the R, and that's what it does (not come). so i transferred over to the V. it was leaving right when i got there. so i waited for the F. i'm on it now. soon i'll have to transfer to the V (or R, but it won't come), and then to a bus that will take me to my house. i am still not warm (my feet, i mean--it still hurts to move them), and i've been in the tunnels for half an hour. you know things are rough when even the Shins can't cheer you up.

on a better note, dcdemocrat is coming to visit. she'll be here sometime before midnight, which is good: gives me a few hours to clean up the apt. a bit. tomorrow night i think we're all (me, dcdemocrat, dietsoda9, and kim) are going to El Rio Grande. that earns a resounding "Yay." i suddenly feel incredibly sick to my stomach. i need food. ooh, also some good news: i am off thursday and friday (what?!). extremely good timing, what with dcdemocrat visiting. she was prepared to entertain herself from 9-5 those days, so i'm sure she's glad. i mean who wouldn't be glad to have more of my company? haha. we'll have to do something fun (that doesn't involve cold weather). (in other words, no ferrying out to statue of liberty island.)

addition, 8:16 pm:

i have been feeling very loved by you all lately, and i love ya'll for making me feel so loved! thanks for all your sweet notes. thanks for reading! love ya'll!

--G

p.s. Kim, if you're reading this: hey, wanna go to El Rio Grande tomorrow night? lol.

a quote from the book i just finished, Elroy Nights:

"Clare wanted to put in an appearance, but I drank a lot and started dancing with an Indian girl who was new in town. She had a red spot on her forehead. The more I drank, the more I came up with questions about this spot. I think she did not know what was going on."

LOL. sigh. that was a good book.

blueavenue at 8:01 p.m.

previous | next