July 18, 2004

i love choirs!

whoo whoo! can't think of a better way to waste a sunday than here on d-land! i love me some internet time!

in honor of my own vanity and messing around w/my camera's crappy resolution and my basement apartment's bad lighting, here are some experimental pics.

this is my curious george rocket alarm clock and an old pic of me in an engraved frame i got from my cool cousin for graduation:

and here is one of me in red light in front of the back door. it's raining out.

and finally, this is me and my subway map.

on another note, my mouse is doing that thing where when you try to move to the right, it just stays put. it moves to the left, up, and down just fine, but no. not to the right. i may have to get another one if this keeps up. it's quite infuriating.

i hate when surveys or quizzes want you to provide adjectives about yourself. mine were too "common." they wanted adjectives that are more "creative." so i came up with gregarious, narcissistic (only mildly, but still), and people-pleaser, which seems like sort of a cheated adjective, what with the hyphen and all. leave it to me to cheat on a quiz.

this is one of my favorite songs ever:

"i dreamed a dream. i dreamed a dream.

i dreamed a dream, a silent dream
of a land not far away.

Where no birds sang, no steeples rang,

and teardrops fell like rain.

i dreamed a dream, a silent dream.

i dreamed a dream

of a land so filled with pride.

that every song both weak and strong

withered, withered and died.

i dreamed a dream.

no hallelujah. not one hosanna.
no song of love. no lullaby.

and no choirs sang to change the world,

i dreamed a dream.

no pipers played, no dancers twirled.

i dreamed a dream. a silent dream.

silent. silent.

awake, awake. awake, awake...

soli deo, gloria--awake, awake!
awake, awake my soul, and sing.
the time for praise has come.

the silence of the night has passed.

a new day has begun.

let music never die in me.

forever let my spirit sing.

wherever emptiness is found,

let there be joy and glorious sound.

let music never die in me.

forever let my spirit sing.

let all our voice join as one

to praise the giver of the song.

awake, awake!

let music live.

let music live.

let music LIVE!"

i know the lyrics are cheesy, but i'm telling you, when you hear this song sung by a 4-part male chorus, you will cry. i don't care who you are. well, if you are ever moved by a piece of music, at least. it is one of the most gorgeous modern choral pieces written.

period.

blueavenue at 8:35 p.m.

previous | next